American Whiskey

"Always carry a flagon of whiskey in case of snakebite and furthermore always carry a small snake." - W.C. Fields

American whiskey is a little different to most other whiskey producers around the world. In America, rye, rye malt, malt, wheat, bourbon and corn whiskeys are all developed, all with different regulations and requirements. 

Rye whiskeys are made from mash that consists of at least 51% rye. Rye malt whiskeys must be made from at least 51% malted rye. Wheat whiskey must consist of at least 51% wheat. Similarly to other malt whiskeys, malt whiskey must be made from mash that consists of at least 51% malted barley. Both bourbon and corn whiskeys are both developed from mash consisting of corn, with bourbon required to be at least 51% and corn needing to consist of at least 80%.

American whiskey is often traced back to the states of Virginia, Maryland and Pennsylvania in the eastern parts of the United States. Rye-based product was produced in 1791, with government seeing potential for added revenue through taxes. The resistance at the time came to be known as the "Whiskey Rebellion". 


Many Irish migrants settled in Tennessee and Kentucky and became the first distillers of American whiskey. With corn so plentiful in the area, the development of sour mash and bourbon quickly ensued. American whiskey over the years has grown to be unique in flavour, with Kentucky and Tennessee remaining two key locations for distilleries in America.

View our American Whiskies

Learn More...

© 2020 Leppington Liquor Supply trading as "Leppington SuperCellars"

"The Whiskey Cabinet" is a Leppington Liquor Supply project and refers to a display of in-store premium spirits.

Packaged Liquor Licence: No. LIQP700353945

ABN: 96 156 554 987 

It is against the law to sell or supply alcohol to, or to obtain alcohol on behalf of, a person under the age of 18 years.

I agree that I am accessing this web page on the condition that I have agreed to being 18 years or older.

All images displayed are indicative only. For any queries or specific details, please contact the store on (02) 9606 6919